Beauty

High End VS. High Street: Matte Foundations

Hi! Today I’m back with another part of High End VS. High Street. This time we’re talking about matte foundations that are my favourite kind of foundations. As someone who has extremely oily skin it’s hard to find a foundation that doesn’t melt off my face within 30 minutes after application. My favourite foundation for over a year now has been MAC’s Studio Fix fluid which is an oil-free, matte foundation with medium/high coverage. I have tried similar foundations from the high street and today I wanted to see if Maybelline’s FitMe! Matte+Poreless foundation could beat my trusty MAC one.

IMG_3736

I know that MAC isn’t considered super high end, but I guess it’s somewhere in the middle between high end and high street. MAC Studio Fix fluid costs 32€ (here in Finland at least, prices may be different in other countries) and Maybelline FitMe! Matte+Poreless costs 9,50€. I think it’s pretty clear that the MAC one is a lot more expensive. Let’s put these foundations to the test.

Application: I applied The Body Shop Vitamin E Aqua Boost Sorbet (review coming soon) as my moisturiser and followed that with Smashbox Photofinish foundation primer. After all that had sunk in I applied the MAC one on one side of my face and the Maybelline one on the other. The shade match in both is good. The shade I have in the MAC one is NW13 and Maybelline one is in 105 Ivory. I think that 105 is the lightest shade they have and I have to say that I’m not the palest so if you are super pale you might not find a suitable shade in this range. Anyways, I noticed that the scent in the Maybelline one is a bit weird, but that doesn’t really matter. The MAC one definitely has better coverage, but it isn’t bad in the Maybelline one. I loved the way these looked on my skin. My skin looked smooth and gorgeous.

IMG_3739
Top one is MAC and Maybelline one is below.

Through the day: I started getting oily around the same time on both sides. I think I powdered twice through the day and that’s not too bad.

End of the day: The Maybelline one had started to separate on my skin quite a bit and a lot of it had faded away. On the MAC side it was okay-looking, it was looking shiny but not too bad.

Final thoughts: Honestly both of these foundations are good. I will definitely keep using the Maybelline foundation as I really liked it. I think it’s a great dupe for the MAC one, it only has a slightly lighter coverage, but that’s pretty much it.

So which one is better? In all honesty I can’t decide. They are both gorgeous foundations and they both have their pros and cons, but I would highly recommend both.

This time it was tie between these two. You can go and read the previous part here: High End VS. High Street – Perfecting Primers.

Thank you so much for reading. If you want to see more posts like this in the future then don’t forget to like and follow my blog!

All the love, Carina x

Bloglovin’  <> Instagram <> Twitter <> Email contactcarinasbeauty@gmail.com

 

 

11 thoughts on “High End VS. High Street: Matte Foundations

Leave a Reply

