Beauty · Yleinen

Getting Rid of Acne: La Roche Posay Effaclar range

Hello, how is everyone doing?

Today I wanted to make a post about the products that I use in my skincare routine. I have mentioned it before, but I will go now more in depth about my acne. I have had spots since I was about 11 or 12 years old. It never really bothered me until it started getting worse last spring/summer. I never thought acne would have such a huge impact on my self esteem as it did. I felt disgusted and didn’t really want to go out. I was scared people were going to judge based on the condition of my skin. I was doing everything I could to get clear skin. Trying out tons of different products made my skin only freak out even more. In the beginning of August I though “That’s it, I’m going to see a doctor about this”. The doctor recommended me the La Roche Posay range and gave me also Epiduo (which is a super strong acne cream) and I was on antibiotics for three months. The products didn’t help straight away, but after a month or so my skin started to clear out.

IMG_2818

Obviously these products alone didn’t make my acne go away, but they definitely helped. My skin was all kinds of messed up from using so many different products. I found out that a very simple skincare routine was what my skin needed. I stopped using everything I was previously using and switched to these.

La Roche-Posay Effaclar Purifying Foaming Gel for oily sensitive skin

This is my favourite from these three products. I use this in the evening after I’ve taken my makeup off. I like to use it with a Konjac sponge, because that way it also exfoliates my skin. It has become my holy grail-product and I can’t praise it enought. It’s very simple and gets the job done. My skin feels super fresh after using it. It doesn’t have soap, colorant, alcohol or parabens which is nice if you have sensitive skin.

La Roche-Posay Effaclar Astringent Lotion Micro-Exfoliant

Now this is the one products my skin didn’t agree with. It is a deep-cleansing toner that is supposed to tighten and help to unblock pores. My problem with this is that is alcohol in it. In the morning after I had used this and gone to apply my makeup I was shocked how red my skin was. I was so confused about what had caused my skin to turn into a tomato. After a few days I realised that is this and the alcohol in it that was causing the reaction. I wouldn’t recommend this. In my opinion toner isn’t that important. If you want to use a toner I would highly recommend the Lush Tea Tree toner, I love that stuff!

La Roche-Posay Effaclar H Multi-Compensating Soothing Moisturizer for oily skin weakened by over-drying treatments

This is must have if you are using something like Epiduo or something else that is drying your skin out. Basically, Epiduo dries the crap out your skin. This moisturizer is super heavy and very moisturizing. I wouldn’t pick it up unless you’re using an over-drying treatment.

For me one of the worst moments of having acne was my lovely nine-year-old brother asked me “What are those red dots all over your face? Did you hurt yourself?”. It was something I laughed at when it happened, but really it made me even more self-conscious.

Here is everything I have this time. I hope you enjoyed my little bit more chatty post.

Carina x

 

 

4 thoughts on “Getting Rid of Acne: La Roche Posay Effaclar range

Leave a Reply

