Beauty

Review and First Impressions: Nivea Men Post Shave Balm

Hi guys!

Today I will be talking about a product that has been taking over the beauty world. I saw Kathleen Lights (on YouTube) talk about this product and I was quickly sold. The Nivea Men Post Shave Balm is a mens product, but a lot of people have been using it as a primer. It’s cheap as chips (I bought mine for 6,40€) and you get a lot product for the small price.

readynivea2

I’m new to the world of primers and I had high hopes for this one. The only primer that I’ve used before is Rimmel’s Stay Matte primer, which failed to impress me.

When I used this product for the first time, it was before 6am on a Monday morning. Usually my skin gets shiny before I even get to school which is around 10am.

First thing I noticed was the heavy glass bottle which might not be the best if you travel a lot or carry it in your makeup bag.

The product is very liquidy. I applied it on top of my Lumene moisturizer (I usually  use a La Roche Posay one). It made my skin feel super soft and smooth. It has a masculine scent, but the scent fades away quickly.

readynivea

On top of the primer I used my trusty base trio which consist of Mac Studio Fix Fluid foundation (the best foundation in my opinion!), Maybelline Fit Me concealer and Rimmel Stay Matte powder. Even though I use very mattifying products for my base, my skin still gets really shiny. My base applied beautifully on top of the primer.

After wearing the primer for about four hours I started to get a bit shiny but nothing a bit of powder couldn’t fix. At the end of the day my makeup was still looking great. Usually I am an oily mess, but with this my face looked okay.

Although the primer didn’t keep me 100% matte, it did help a lot. It helps to keep your makeup in place and helps to keep it matte also. It’s a great primer for a small price. I would recommend getting it asap, because once Nivea realises that people are using it “the wrong-way”, they will re-package it, start marketing it towards women and double the price.

Here are all my thoughts on the primer. If you have any recommendations, feel free to leave them.

Love, Carina

 

 

3 thoughts on “Review and First Impressions: Nivea Men Post Shave Balm

  1. I am so intrigued by this, I need to try it out but I am a bit scared of the manly scent thou, haha! It feels so weird to put stuff on your face that is actually for men, but I’ll give it a try! Good review 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

